Boy Abunda speaks up on SNN against those who call him “just an entertainer” after news that the new Aquino administration is considering him as Department of Tourism secretary. He admits, “Dito po ako napipikon, sasabihin ko po sa inyo ang totoo. May mga nagsasabing… si Boy Abunda hindi dapat tanggapin ang offer na maging Secretary ng Department of Tourism, dahil s’ya ay hindi marketing man, at s’ya ay hindi abogado, he is just an entertainer.”

 

He stresses, “I am an entertainer, but I am not just an entertainer. Ang puhunan po namin ay utak, puso, pawis at dugo. To do what we do is not easy. This is not an easy job. And yes, I am proudly an entertainer.”

The King of Talk declared beforehand (also on SNN) that he is “inclined to decline” the offer to be the next Tourism Secretary. However, he clarifies that the position was not offered to him formally.

Boy Abunda promises to respect and honor his contract with ABS-CBN until 2011. He adds, “I am happiest where I am right now. I cannot complain. I am happiest in the entertainment industry.”

His last statement, however, gives a clear idea of his future plans, “I am not closing my doors. But is it gonna happen now? No.”  -ABS-CBN

