FM radio station Tambayan 101.9 will honor Filipino creativity and originality in the music industry with the “Tambayan OPM Awards” this Saturday (May 29), 5 p.m. at the Skydome at SM City North Edsa, Quezon City.

The most popular names in the music scene such as 6CycleMind, Calla Lily, Sugarfree, Imago, Rocksteddy, Kyla, Laarni Losada, Sam Concepcion, and Ronnie Liang will join Pinoy Dream Academy scholars and Piolo Pascual at this special free event for all avid Tambayers.

The Kapamilya radio station will be giving out seven awards based on commercial appeal, musicality, and originality/creativity.

Nominees for Album of the Year are “Just Me” (Sarah Geronimo), “Lapit” (Yeng Constantino), “Your Universe” (Rico Blanco), “Mornings and Airports” (Sugarfree), and “Ikaw Na Nga” (Willie Revillame).

6CycleMind, Spongecola, Hale, Sugarfree, Itchyworms, and Rocksteddy, on the other hand, are battling it out for the Band of the Year category.

Male performers Bugoy Drilon, Rico Blanco, Willie Revillame, Jericho Rosales, and Gloc 9 are competing for the Male Artist of the Year award while Pinoy Dream Academy Grand Star Dreamer Yeng Constantino, international singing sensation Charice, and pop star princess Sarah Geronimo compete for the Female Artist of the Year award.

Outstanding compositions will also be recognized through the Song of the Year Award. Nominees include “Upuan” by Gloc 9, “Antukin” by Rico Blanco, “Ikaw na Nga” by Willie Revillame, and “Lapit” by Yeng Constantino.

For the Best Novelty Song of the Year, it’s a showdown between “Pata-Pata-Pong” by Vhong Navarro and “Sana Kunin Ka Na ni Lord” by Pokwang.

Meawhile, Tambayan OPM Awards will also hand out the Kantamercial of the Year award to the best commercial jingle for the year. Competing in this category are brands Close-Up (Rico Blanco), RC Cola (Itchyworms), Purefoods Tender Juicy (JLC and Kids), Globe (Sarah Geronimo) and Selecta (Vhong Navarro).

Eligible for nomination to the Tambayan OPM Awards Songs are songs that became hits as well as artists from all record labels that produced hits in 2009. These songs and artists must be geared toward the audience of the radio station. Winners will be judged through text and program committee votes.

Not eligible as entries are revivals, music sampling, tagalized versions, and the like. -ABS-CBNnews