Action star Robin Padilla bid goodbye to ABS-CBN’s popular noontime show “Wowowee” on Friday.

 

Padilla hosted the show for 2 weeks after its main host Willie Revillame took an “indefinite break” from the show following a tiff with “The Buzz” co-host Jobert Sucaldito.
Revillame had dared ABS-CBN management to fire Sucaldito for allegedly belittling Wowowee contestants.

On Friday, Padilla thanked ABS-CBN management and the show’s staff for giving him an opportunity to host Wowowee. He said he will forever treasure his experiences on the show.

“Isang napakalaking karangalan po ang maging bahagi ng Wowowee. Ako po ay nagpapasalamat sa ABS-CBN, sa staff, maraming salamat sa inyo. Sa mga dancers, musicians, technicians, sa guards, sa ating crowd control, at siyempre po sa inyong lahat,” Padilla said.

“Hindi ko po makakalimutan sa buong buhay ko ang mga naganap sa entabladong ito–kalungkutan kasayahan, kagalingan. Lahat lahat po nandito sa puso ko. Naging iisang tunay na pamilya po tayo,” he added.

“Tuwing lumalabas po ako (dito), hindi po ako host, hindi ako isang singer, hindi ako isang dancer. Isa akong Pilipinong kalatulad niyo, ‘Robin Hood’ po ang pangalan.”

Padilla also thanked the program’s co-hosts Mariel Rodriguez, Valerie Concepcion and Pokwang who all became emotional.

In his last hosting day, Padilla sang “Kaya Mo Yan” to all the viewers. Before he finished his song, the show’s female hosts gave him garlands.

Padilla thanked all his co-hosts and expressed hope that someday, he will be given a chance to work with them again.

ABS-CBN management reportedly tried to convince Padilla to stay longer in the show.

“Gusto ko lang iparating sa inyo ang pasasalamat ko, sa tuwing gigising ako, may pagkain ako, may kape ako, at may halik. Napaka-swerte ko pong tao,” he said.

“Maaring sa ibang pagkakataon at sa isa pang pagkakataong muli ay maaring magkasama tayo ulit.”

Joining Padilla in his last day of hosting was his mother and some members of the family.

Padilla temporarily took over from Revillame on May 15. His short stint help boost Wowowee’s ratings.

‘Hard to leave’ Wowowee

In an interview with ABS-CBN News’s Mario Dumaual, Padilla said that even though he wanted to continue, he said the show is Willie Revillame’s show.

“Naiipit po tayo eh, naiipit po tayo. Gusto ko man mag-tuluy-tuloy, gustuhin ko man maging permanente ito, pero ayaw na ayaw ko pong may nasasagasaan eh… Kay Ka Willie ito eh,” he said.

Padilla also admitted that Rodriguez is one of the reasons why it is hard for him to leave the show.

“Isa pang malungkot ‘yon na pangyayari, dahil talagang ako’y… napakaganda ng (mga) mata ni Mariel,” Padilla said.

He also has a message to the viewers and fans of Wowowee who supported his 2-week stint, especially to those who participated in the show’s games.

“Talagang ang Wowowee po, ito po ay programa ninyo, nagbibigay po ng pantawid, minsan naman ay pang-umpisa,” he said.

He also said that he will return to the show in the future, most likely as a guest.

“Opo, asahan po ninyo iyan, makikita nyo pa rin po ako dito. Sana patuloy lang po ang suporta ninyo sa Wowowee, dahil ito pong programang ito ay para po sa inyo,” he said.  -With reports from Mario Dumaual, ABS-CBN News

