Sen. Benigno Aquino III and Makati City Mayor Jejomar Binay continue to lead in the Commission on Elections (Comelec) partial count of the votes for president and vice-president.

As of 1:26 a.m. Tuesday, Aquino had a 3.9-million vote lead over his closest rival, Pwersa ng Masang Pilipino standard-bearer Joseph Estrada, based on the partial and unofficial tally of 68.56% of votes cast in 76,300 polling precincts nationwide.

On the other hand, Binay had a lead of over 800,000 votes over Liberal Party vice-presidential bet Mar Roxas based on the latest Comelec count.

The results were:

For President

Benigno Aquino: 10,792,214
Joseph Estrada: 6,826,095
Manuel Villar: 3,738,800
Gilbert Teodoro: 2,838,145
Eddie Villanueva: 814,451

Richard Gordon: 396,592
Nicanor Perlas: 36,434
Jamby Madrigal: 32,585
JC de los Reyes: 30,142

For Vice-President

Jejomar Binay: 10,696,199
Manuel Roxas: 9,848,739
Loren Legarda: 2,802,334
Bayani Fernando: 763,370
Edu Manzano: 494,516

Perfecto Yasay: 262,764
Jay Sonza: 44,561
Dominador Chipeco 34,010

In a press conference, Comelec Chairman Jose Melo said voter turnout for the country’s first ever nationwide automated election was around 75%.

“Are we happy? We are all happy,” Melo said in an apparent response to dire forecasts that the country’s first automated polls would fail.

He added: “This seems to be a victory of the Filipino people, with God’s help.” –Source: ABS-CBNnews