MANILA, Philippines – Will “Up” make history as the first full-length animation movie to win the Oscars’ best picture? Will Sandra Bullock finally get her first Oscar award for her portrayal of a tough mother who took care of a young man and nurtured his football skills in “The Blind Side?” Who between former spouses James Cameron of “Avatar” and Kathryn Bigelow of “The Hurt Locker” will win as best director?

Entertainment history will once again unfold in the prestigious and highly anticipated 82nd Academy Awards airing live via satellite on ABS-CBN on March 8 at 9:30 a.m. with a primetime telecast on Studio 23 on March 9 at 7 p.m. Cable channel Velvet (SkyCable channel 53) will air it on March 8 starting at 6:30 a.m., with the primetime telecast the same day at 7 p.m.

The biggest names in Hollywood will gather to recognize various professionals in the film industry, including writers, directors and actors who exemplify excellence in their field.

Battling it out in the best motion picture category are 10 equally-deserving films namely “Avatar,” “The Blind Side,” “District 9,” “An Education,” “The Hurt Locker,” “Inglourious Basterds,” “Precious,” “A Serious Man,” “Up,” and “Up in the Air.” This is the first time in history where 10 titles are vying for the award.

Former couple James Cameron (“Avatar”) and Kathryn Bigelow (“The Hurt Locker”) are up against each other for the directing category alongside Quentin Tarantino for “Inglourious Basterds,” Lee Daniels for “Precious,” and Jason Reitman for “Up in the Air.”

Meanwhile, everyone is all eyes on Bullock who earned her first Oscar nomination in the best performance by an actress in a leading role category for her portrayal in “The Blind Side.” She is competing against actresses Helen Mirren (“The Last Station”), Carey Mulligan (“An Education”), Gabourey Sidibe (“Precious”) and Meryl Streep (“Julie and Julia”), who just broke her own record as the most nominated performer in Academy history by earning her 16th nod.

The 82nd Academy Awards, organized by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, will be held in the US on March 7 at the Kodak Theater in Los Angeles. The awards night will be hosted by Alec Baldwin and Steve Martin with teen stars Miley Cyrus, Zac Efron, Taylor Lautner and Kristen Stewart to serve as presenters.

Originally Posted on: last 03/03/2010